‘Giovane’ Part II: “Il est difficle de vaincre ses passions, et impossible de les satisfaire” – De La Sabliére

“Il est difficle de vaincre ses passions, et impossible de les satisfaire.”  – De La Sabliére.

AWFIRST

IMG_2960

IMG_2834

IMG_2789

lookingintopurse

skinnygirl

Photographer: Alice Woods

Make-up Artist: Loide Adam

Hair: Lesley Zita

[Jacket: Winners (old, but loving this) / Sweater Dress: H&M (only $24.95!!!) / Leggings: ASOS / Boots: Joe Fresh (old, but these are hot) / Clutch: Forever21 / Necklace: H&M / Armparty: Michael Kors, Sira & Mara, and Aldo / Sunnies: Gucci]

That infamous French phrase was only recently relayed to me. It’s English translation is: “It is difficult to master your passions and impossible to satisfy them.”

Vrai.

Truer words have never been spoken.

Obviously, fashion is a passion of mine – amongst many. It’s to be noted that I never used to be fashion forward as a teen. Coming into my own as a young woman, I’ve most certainly developed my own style, and I love it. I’ve learned to dress my body type in a way that befits various renown aspects of my personality. Every year I get busier and busier – managing the daily affairs of life, while trying to maintain personal obligations and an awesome social life. Where does the time go?

This passion for fashion can indeed be difficult to master, and seemingly impossible to satisfy. I’m always strolling through the mall and trying something on. Trolling my online favourites trying to snag a deal, staying up late for midnight flash sales (you will not find ‘ole girl getting up at the crack of dawn to wait in line for a collection. Sorry, I’m not sorry). It can become a bit of an obsession. Right? The truth is, there will always be another shoe, handbag, dress, or killer designer piece to be had. There’s always something we as women covet for our closets. The new or revamped “it” item this season. A new catalogue to flip through. A sale you just can’t walk away from, or a fashion designer to watch and follow intensely. It never ends. And yet, we want it all. Ha! I try not to take it too seriously – to focus less on trying to satisfy – and enjoy the journey of it all. Fashion is a great way to express ourselves – but it really is what’s on the inside that counts. How we dress who we are on the inside requires even more dedication. Clothes are a great component, but who we really are deep inside is what can bring us the greatest blessings in life.

I started this blog as a hobby of mine while undergoing some personal trials and it was a decision I don’t regret. It was something that allowed me to dedicate a small amount of time to myself to de-stress while making great use of my own personal creative outlet. And so, I encourage my readers to do the same.  Find something that you enjoy that can be explored as a hobby and works well for “me-time”. Life is too short to get sucked into the vortex of some our overly mundane routines. It can be 5, 10, or 15 minutes a week that you dedicate to getting in tune with your passion. We all have passions. What are yours?

Check out a few more stills from this look that I shot with Alice Woods.

IMG_2770

IMG_2812

DSC01209

faceforward

faceupbetter

forwardlooking1 reallygreat

greatface

handlengthwise

handupforward

smilesideview

walking22 (1)

2 thoughts on “‘Giovane’ Part II: “Il est difficle de vaincre ses passions, et impossible de les satisfaire” – De La Sabliére

LEAVE A REPLY -- Please note that your email will NEVER be published.

